powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2009-06-30 - 9:32 p.m.

It's the last day of June (hey, that's a Finn song) and I'm keeping my promise to write once a month (plus I'm finally delivering on my vegetarian curry night so no complaining from Meegs :)

The 2.5 odd months since returning from Vietnam have been up and down- mainly linked directly to how I've been feeling at/about work. I've just had two days where I've hardly had time to breathe, and it feels good (although today wasn't without its frustrations). Don't get me wrong, I don't think there's been a day in the last 2 months when there haven't been 100 things I could be doing, but I won't deny there have been times when I've been staring at a computer screen for half an hour trying to motivate myself. I'm not very good at working on things that aren't due in the short term- particularly if they're things I don't enjoy. And then there are times when ridiculous issues between staff come up that I just don't want to deal with. Again, don't get me wrong, dealing with such issues is a part of my job, and sometimes making progress on such issues is rewarding- but other times you turn up at 7.30am on a Monday, primed for a positive week, and the stuff waiting for you at work just makes you want to run in the other direction.

But so far this week things have been good. I feel like I'm making a difference, even if I still have 101 things to do and not enough hours in the day to get them done.

On Saturday I debuted as DJ Ringo at Kitty's monthly Q&A night. It was great- I thoroughly enjoyed the entire set, as well as dancing to Kitty's stuff. It was so great to see people I didn't know reacting to my choices (and at least one stranger complimenting me on an awesome set). Plus a bunch of friends came along and danced to my whole set.

Here is approximately what I played (you knew it was coming ;)

Joy Division- Love Will Tear Us Apart (after Kitty finished with the Wombats)
Depeche Mode- Just Can't Get Enough
New Order- Temptation
Pulp- Disco 2000
James- Laid
White Stripes- Hotel Yorba
Placebo- Special K
They Might Be Giants- Birdhouse in Your Soul
The Smiths- Ask
Vampire Weekend- A-Punk
The Cure- Boys Don't Cry
Franz Ferdinand- Michael
The Strokes- Barely Legal
Suede- Animal Nitrate
David Bowie- Modern Love
The Beatles- I Saw Her Standing There
The Rolling Stones- Get Off Of My Cloud
The Ting Tings- Great DJ

Hmmm, that's make a great compilation CD...

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!