powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-03-21 - 1:29 a.m.

So the war has started and there's nothing we can do about it and hopefully this will be the last I have to say about it until the goddamn thing is over.

I just hope it ends quickly. Given that there's no stopping it now I do want Saddam gone, I don't want any more excuses for a war in ten years time when another Bush is in power and they have to make up for the ineptitude of their predecessor, I don't want any more innocent Iraqi lives lost at the hands of either Hussein or Bush (Bush has used the fact that Saddam is placing his troops amongst civilians as further proof of how evil he is, but it's not going to stop him condoning the inevitable civilian losses to reach the final outcome), I don't want (unrealistic I know) any of the soldiers who are pawns in this game to die. Not only that but think of the Kuwaitis who will have their buildings razed as the Iraqis retalliate to the allied invasion. Think of the Iraqi civilians who call Baghdad home who have been forced into exodus, and will return to find their homes and landmarks destroyed. Think of how our fearmongering politicians will sit back in their multimillion dollar homes safe in the knowledge that not only will they live to see another day but they will still have their houses, their cities, their landmarks. I don't think I'd care if I was oppressed by a tyrant, if another country took it into their hands to liberate my countrymen, killing some of my loved ones and making my city not feel like a home anymore I know who I'd be directing my hatred at.

If the tables were turned and the war was on our soil the place I work would be a major tactical target. Destroy it and you lose the fuel supply to 2/3 of New South Wales. I live 15 minutes drive from a nuclear reactor, 25 minutes from an army base, 30 minutes from the city that is the heart of our nation.

I just hope more than anything else that after this "axis of evil" is dismantled, the free world exercises its democratic right to put an end to the "axis of fear", and see that Bush, Blair and Howard pay the price for their arrogance.

"Imagine there's no countries/ it isn't hard to do/ nothing to kill or die for/ and no religion too"

- John Lennon

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!