powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2008-11-30 - 7:50 p.m.

I've been meaning to write about Fordie's gig for the last week but I think it took me the best part of the week to get over it. I've just spent the weekend lazing about on a boat so I think I'm finally back in the land of the living.

And of course a week later I feel like there's nothing new to say that hasn't already been said. In fact I think one of Lucy's lj entries pretty much summed it up for me. So many people from so many different parts of my life. People who had never met Fordie who came to support a good cause and see some good music, or catch up with friends. People who did know Fordie or those closest to her and came from Melbourne, Adelaide and Canberra. Priceless moments on stage. Priceless memories off stage.

When I first turned up (sans Jo who was stuck late at work) it was the year 2000 (which was incidentally over a year before I met Fordie). Emma, Sarah, Janis, Megs and Arckie outside the Rose. Soon joined by Schmikes, Yas and later on by Gibbo. Lucy (and both her sisters) of course, Erin, Schiller and Rach, Ruth. Jo had her closest friends in attendance too- Francis, Sally, Mark, Phoebe, Pete and Mel were all there. Steve came along, and stayed long into the night.

Jo and Francis were at the Townie until about 3am, Steve and Sally stayed until about 4.30am. I was assisted by legal amphetamines (if you can call them that when they've been prescribed to someone else) and didn't sleep until about 11pm on Saturday night. When everyone else went home and we were kicked out of the Townie I ended up back at Yas and Gibbo's place, doing headstands, writing down what I would play if I was DJing between bands at Spectrum and talking some absolute shit (sorry to everyone I spoke to after about 2.30am). I did have some really good conversations with quite a lot of people, but I don't know if that quite makes up for the mindvomit that was endured by many.

The bands were great- everybody had a story about Fordie and even if you were to have stripped back the enormous significance of the night you would have been left with 10 or 11 great mini sets, full of guest appearances, encores and covers.

I think that's all I have to say about it. I think one of the things that has come back to me over and over this past year is that Mel wasn't one of my closest friends, nor me hers, but losing her has made me realise how much impact one person can have on your life, and it's made me thankful for every single person that does impact on my life- no matter how small a part they might play.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!