powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-12-09 - 3:52 p.m.

The Triple J has a list of over 300 albums released this year for the purposes of compiling the top 10 albums of 2002. I've worked out my shortlist of the best albums for 2002 based on albums I either have or am keen to buy or hear- in alphabetical order :)

I have 25, what I nice square number...

Badly Drawn Boy- About a Boy (Soundtrack)

Badly Drawn Boy- Have You Fed The Fish?

Bluebottle Kiss- Revenge is Slow

David Bowie- Heathen

Decoder Ring- Decoder Ring

Eminem- The Eminem Show

Flaming Lips- Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots

George- Polyserena

Golden Rough- Provenance

Grinspoon- New Detention

Darren Hanlon- Hello Stranger

Mick Hart- Upside Down in the Full Face of Optimism

Jebediah- Jebediah

Machine Gun Fellatio- Paging Mr Strike

Genevieve Maynard- Ghost Notes

David McCormack and the Polaroids- Candy

Motor Ace- Shoot This

Oasis- Heathen Chemistry

Pacifier- Pacifier

Red Hot Chili Peppers- By The Way

Rhubarb- Slow Motion

silverchair- Diorama

The Vines- Highly Evolved

Weezer- Maladroit

The Whitlams- Torch the Moon

Okay, so my Top 5...

1. The Whitlams- Torch The Moon

2. Machine Gun Fellatio- Paging Mr Strike

3. Oasis- Heathen Chemistry

4. Grinspoon- New Detention

5. silverchair- Diorama

In the case of #4 and #5 I haven't had a good chance to listen to either album start to finish but from what I know I'm impressed. Usually I would never admit to liking anything silverchair because my sister is completely obsessed with them, but you only have to listen to the Brian Wilson inspired "Luv Your Life" to realise what an amazing leap this is from the teen-angst guitar drenched boredom of "Frogstomp" and "Freak Show".

I imagine I will get down my rundown of Homebake on these pages in the near future.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!