powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2009-04-30 - 5:53 p.m.

Okay, this is my last chance to make sure I've at least written in here once a month. And apparently there are people keen to read :P Yeah you, the one that's supposed to be finding a cure for sugar.

So, how do I do this? Write about the wedding? About the honeymoon? Or about life in general? I think the last one is easiest, and most conducive to getting back into the swing of writing regularly. I'll try my bestest to write about the wedding or the honeymoon on Monday when I have the day off work to receive our wedding presents from Myer.

We flew back into the country a little over two weeks ago- walked through the door at about 3pm and I was back at work not long after 7am the next morning. It took me some time to get back into the swing of things- I couldn't have done more than a day-and-a-half's work in the first 3 days. Work is, as always, a mixed bag. One day I feel challenged and motivated, the next I feel completely out of my depth and like I should be packing it all in to work in a record store and start writing a novel. Today I spent some time in the city office brainstorming with people who actually care about their job- not as in having a job or proving that you're good at it and better than some proportion of other people who do a similar job but care about the subject matter of their job. I don't know if I can honestly say that I truly care about the subject matter of my job, but it certainly made me want to. And made me want to get away from the bickering children that I have to deal with every day. And made me want to be working on the twenty-somethingth floor of a fantastically furnished office block instead of a run down 50 year old building.

So that's work, in a nutshell. First weekend after we got back we had my parents' visit on the Saturday and Jo's mum on the Sunday, bringing with them a stash of wedding presents. Jo wasn't well so we didn't do much else. Last weekend we were drinking in North Sydney (and later the Townie) on Friday night, had Phillipa, Richard and Steve around for dinner on Saturday night and had a lovely Sunday which included Yum Cha and a visit from Jo's Dad.

And on Monday night we caught up with my old friend Krystal from Uni for a few drinks in Circular Quay which was great. She's living in England now but I could tell she was back for at least a week or two by reading her facebook status updates so I sent her a note suggesting we catch up.

So I bet you want to know if it feels any different writing this with a gold band on the fourth finger of my left hand. It does kinda. The wedding really felt like the beginning of something, despite us having been together for over 6 years before that. Ever since we got back all I've wanted to talk about was that day, like there was nothing before it. That might sound sappy and maybe I'm playing on it a bit but it's true. You just find your mind wander back to a particular part of the day and then it's like someone presses play and you're going back over that section in real time. We're still sorting through photos and waiting on presents and have to do Thank You cards and go through first edits of the video and I think it will be a long time before things get back to "normal". And when they do I think it will be a different kind of normal- it's kind of a conscious thing as well. I'm using the wedding as a chance to look at aspects of me that I want to change. For example, not staying out drinking too much while Jo goes home. There's no need for that. Sure, there's a need to spend some time without each other- spend time with friends as an individual not a couple, but on the nights when you are out as a couple I don't think there's any need for that.

Anyway, I'll write more about the wedding, like I said.

And here's a challenge for my two loyal readers... a bottle of champers for the one who lasts the longest without mentioning babies (I'll be the judge of what consititutes "mentioning babies").

Now get back to work.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!