powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2007-05-28 - 6:35 p.m.

I literally had nothing planned for the three days off just past. I even had an extra half a day because I finished work early on Friday night. Still, I feel like I'm doing something wrong getting up at 1pm as I did today. Probably because I don't actually need 12 hours sleep and it's going to mean I have trouble getting to sleep tonight.

I've delivered two of the training sessions that I'm sure I've mentioned previously in the last week. They went pretty well- the most recent one particularly. There were teething problems with the first one, and one guy who really didn't want to be there ad was giving us a hard time- but that in itself is a learning exerience and can be expected when you're telling people they have to go to something.

Monday was a fairly hectic day at work because I'd planned to spend a couple of hours preparing for the first of said sessions, and then my deputy called in sick, so it made organising the routine work that much more difficult. Tuesday I spent most of day either preparing for, delivering or debriefing the session- and then there were some other presentations to attend before I went home. I don't even remember how I spent my changeover- I think that was when I made curry for Lucy and I. That's right, I was trying to work out why I wanted to avoid going into work early on Wednesday to prepare for the second training session, but that was simply because I had to go up to Newtown to pay the balance of my Singapore/ San Fran trip. That only took a couple of minutes so I also had lunch with Kellee for her birthday. Wednesday night was a standard work night. Thursday I came in early to prepare for the training session I was delivering on Friday, and left a couple of hours early on account of having to come in at about 10am the next morning. And also because of that I left work at about 7pm that day.

All this is incredibly boring I realise, but in order to write anything other than what I did each day I've really got to be in the right mood, and if I'm not then at least I'm writing something. Plus I'm glad I've been keeping tabs on what I've been doing day-to-day for the last year-and-a-half, there were times when I wrote so infrequently that a good night out that might get a whole entry these days didn't even get a mention, because I was too busy staying up to date with buying a house and moving several months previously. Or something.

It occurs to me that I'm the only one left on Diaryland, and I feel like I should be writing something interesting or entertaining, but maybe it's exactly for that reason that I'm not migrating to livejournal or myspace (I have an account with each of them but it's really just to read other people). There's also the issue of not always wanting to write in here about insecurities I have about this whole long distance relationship thing. I can think them out in my pen-and-paper diary if I want to, and more importantly talk about them with Jo rather than anyone reading this hearing it first. Don't get the impression that I'm having insecurities about the relationship itself, just about whether I'll ever get over there, and whether Jo's going to do all the cool things I wanted us to do together because she knows I can't guarantee I'll be there, and insecurities about money and all that stuff. At some point in these three days off I thought I was going to write in here about all that stuff, but I slept in and watched TV instead, and I don't really feel like deep thought entries now.

So I've acknowledged that, now it's back to the mundane chronicling. I was going to stop by Video Ezy on the way back from work on Friday and spend the night at home, but Meegs managed to convince me to come out for a few drinks. I probably got to the Townie at about 10am, and after inviting Rowan along for a couple as well (to make up for Meegs' poor effort which she bettered the next night by all accounts ;) I ended up staying until about 2.30am. Why did I have to give myself a Saturday hangover when I was supposed to just be watching DVDs?

Saturday I spoke to Jo in the morning (she was heading to Seattle for the US Memorial Day long weekend), then my Dad asked if I wanted to have lunch in Newtown since they were headng in to pay the balance of their Singapore tickets. I lobbied unsuccessfully to have brunch in Marrickville (they'd found too good a car park), but I got my travel insurance settled for both New York in July and Singapore/San Fran/Cuba (fingers crossed) in December/January so it was a moderately productive day after all. Saturday night I made good on the DVD idea, hiring out "The Prestige" and "Suburban Mayhem". I was having trouble dealing with the fact that what appeared to be a period piece thriller ("The Prestige") also had a science fiction component, and was still looking for answers that weren't there at the end- but it's one of those movies that is good to watch again when you know the ending anyway, so I watched it again last night.

Yesterday I had myself a "to-do" list, and got a fair bit of it done. I hadn't been for a run for two weeks and unsurprisingly I wasn't up for the whole cicuit- that's the problem with reaching a goal, anything less doesn't seem acceptable afterwards. I've cleaned my room a bit, did some Grocery Shopping, went up to the Lewisham Hotel to see Fordie play, came home and made some dinner, and finished reading "100 Years of Solitude". Don't know what to make of that book. It was an interesting ride but I don't know where it took me in the end. I think I'm going to give "The God of Small Things" another go next- it's set in the part of India where my Grandparents are from, so I should get something out of it. Last time I wasn't getting into it that much, but the same can be said of "White Teeth" and I'm very glad I went back to that one.

That's all really. I might think about writing something in my pen-and-paper diary- or maybe I'll start reading as mentioned above. Either way, despite my oversleeping, I've had a decent three days off.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!