powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-08-04 - 1:25 a.m.

So I wasn't sure how Annie would take my reply, given how some of our email exchanges have rapidly degenerated since things went awry. I hoped for the best, that she was in some way "better", and not just in the way she responds to emails but just generally better, since I have no idea what has been happening in her life for pretty much 18 months.

But I never actually asked how she was, just sent her those song lyrics that I put down in my last entry. So when I got her reply I was- I was just so happy. Be as cynical as you like, tell me I should have learnt my lesson, whatever; but given the history of our friendship, given that it's always revolved around me being there for her in hard times, what she wrote was such a breath of fresh air, and it made me feel like one day maybe I would see her and she would be so unbelievably okay- and she'd tell me all about her great job, and great boyfriend (and I'd actually agree with her), and maybe we could be something that we've never really been (at least not given how I used to feel about her)- just friends.

_______________________________________________________________________________

Well, I ain't got my childhood

Or friends I once did know.

No, I ain't got my childhood

Or friends I once did know.

But I still got my voice left,

I can take it anywhere I go.

Hey, hey, so I guess I'm doin' fine.

And I've never had much money

But I'm still around somehow.

No, I've never had much money

But I'm still around somehow.

Many times I've bended

But I ain't never yet bowed.

Hey, hey, so I guess I'm doin' fine.

Trouble, oh trouble,

I've trouble on my mind

Trouble, oh trouble,

Trouble on my mind.

But the trouble in the world, Lord,

Is much more bigger than mine.

Hey, hey, so I guess I'm doin' fine.

And I never had no armies

To jump at my command.

No, I ain't got no armies

To jump at my command.

But I don't need no armies,

I got me one good friend.

Hey, hey, so I guess I'm doin' fine.

I been kicked and whipped and trampled on,

I been shot at just like you.

I been kicked and whipped and trampled on,

I been shot at just like you.

But as long as the world keeps a-turnin',

I just keep a-turnin' too.

Hey, hey, so I guess I'm doin' fine.

Well, my road might be rocky,

The stones might cut my face.

My road it might be rocky,

The stones might cut my face.

But as some folks ain't got no road at all,

They gotta stand in the same old place.

Hey, hey, so I guess I'm doin' fine.

birthday greetings accepted :)

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!