powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-07-31 - 8:29 p.m.

I'm in the process of getting up to date I really am. I've started writing about the Splendour weekend as a word document, but I'm just not feeling very... what's the written equivalent of verbose?

This Monday to Friday thing tires you out, but not in the same way as shift work. It's so much better for your body, I mean it's 8.30pm and I'm tired, I'll probably end up going to bed by 10pm at this rate, up at 6.30am, do the same thing consistently rather than jump around, and before I know it even when I get the opportunity to sleep until midday I wont :)

The project position has its ups and downs. It's hard to get used to planning my time- on shift you get in at 6am, get everything thrown at you and struggle to be finished by 3pm. In this position I have to motivate myself to do work that I could easily leave until another day but that it wouldn't necessarily be a good idea to put off. They still throw things at you but in a very different way. There's a lot more... ownership of work, a lot more places where you have to say "this is what has to be done but *how*?" There is no "how" in shift work, even if there is a better way to do something you're not really allowed to because strict test methods have to be adhered to.

Anyway, must dash, I'll write more soon I promise ;)

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!