powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-06-28 - 7:50 p.m.

Tomorrow night I'm going to see Lou Barlow at the Basement. It's one of those rare occasions when an overseas artist tours at the perfect time- just when I'm really getting into them. I used to make a habit of seeing shows when I worked at the Entertainment Centre that I would have appreciated a thousand times more a matter of months later- the best examples being REM in 1995 and Radiohead in 1998. Anyway, Lou was/is the lead singer of Indie rockers Sebadoh, and I've only really got to know their stuff since I've known Jane. So I've been downloading (shhh), and reading lyrics, and this one song is so me and Annie it's not funny....

_______________________________________________________________________________

OCEAN (Lou Barlow)

So you think you�re in the middle of the ocean

Stranded on an island of your own

Or stuck in the top of a mountain

Either way you�re gonna say you�re all alone

And I hesitate to say that you�re a liar

I never tell the truth myself

But I tried to chase you down and I got tired

So I�m leaving you to you or someone else

�Cuz you never wanna hook up in the middle

And I�d meet you there to talk if you would show

But you answer every question with a riddle

And refuse to even choose to let me go

It used to be I�d tell you all my secrets

Giving you the credit you deserve

I guess you didn�t care to lose or keep it

And we never quite connected from the first

And I wish I had a way to make it better

To rearrange the world and make you smile

But it�s dumb to even think I had that power

And we haven�t been that close in a while

And I don�t even wanna try to name it

Explain it for the one who couldn�t care

�Cuz all that matters is the way you choose to frame it

And I hesitate to say that you�re a liar

I never tell the truth myself

But I tried to chase you down and I got tired

So I�m leaving you to you or someone else

�Cuz you never wanna hook up in the middle

And I�d meet you there to talk if you would show

But you answer every question with a riddle

And refuse to even choose to let me go

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!