powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-10-14 - 4:19 p.m.

The world is neither fair nor unfair

The idea is just a way for us to understand

But the world is neither fair nor unfair

So one survives, the others die

And you always want a reason why

But the world is neither just nor unjust

It's just us trying to feel that there's some sense in it

No, the world is neither just nor unjust

And though going young

So much undone

Is a tragedy for everyone

It doesn't speak a plan or any secret thing

No unseen sign or untold truth in anything

But living on in others

In memories and dreams

Is not enough....

The Cure- 'Where The Birds Always Sing'

_____________________________________________

I really don't want to write about the latest wave of insanity to unleash itself on the world. Mainly because I don't know what to think, and I will never have the answers.

Addas said that I would agree that John Lennon had the right idea in imagine, and I do. But he also said "our military is a joke", which would insinuate we don't spend enough money on it, from a purely practical point of view. I cannot agree with spending money on our military when our health care system lacks so much, and always will because you can never do enough to save lives. Yet I know at times like this that to save lives you need a defence force. I don't want to believe that- I want to be a left wing hippie who says that any type of war and aggression is wrong. Yet even some of my most opinionated left wing friends are angry that more wasn't "done" in East Timor, and this insinuates that military action should have been taken earlier. Mind you there is a big difference between intervening in a bloodbath that has been going on for 25 years and planning preemptive strikes which are justified to the public as if they are idiots (or is that just the only way Georgie boy knows how to talk) "if we wait for the first move to be made it could be a mushroom cloud" (paraphrase). But then people start using the analogy of not stopping Hitler in time, and while it's all very well to agree in hindsight, I can see the point.

I'm not political. I'm not religious. The only way I know to change the world is through love. Call it naive, call it self-absorbed but I can't do anything about the shit that happens in this world so I'm not going to get involved. I'm just going to keep on doing what I know, and that's trying to do the best for the people I care about. The people I can help, or can touch, or whose lives I can change for the better. I'm not saying that I don't care about the hundreds of thousands that die every day that I don't know, while if someone I knew died it would be more important. It's just that I can't do anything about it, and I don't want to feel helpless.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!